Friday at the Filmore ~ Humble Pie

Performance Rockin’ the Fillmore

I Walk On Gilded Splinters

Released in 1971……… Written by Dr. John ( Malcolm John “Mac” Rebennack, Jr. ) aka Dr. John Creaux.

Steve Marriott : guitar, vocals, keyboards, harmonica
Peter Frampton : guitar, vocals
Greg Ridley : bass, vocals
Jerry Shirley : drums

There was no bad song from this live double record set.  This song was 23:25 of pure bliss and my favorite off the albums.

They just don’t jam Rock-n-Roll anymore and this recording is proof of that. One side long. They took Dr. John’s classic to an ultimate timeless high with their own version of it. I wore this Album out.

Actually I borrowed this from an old high school friend and never gave it back. lol………. She was probably stoned and forgot I borrowed it. Ahhhhhh also the days of four and a half-five finger lids for $10.00. Well it’s been 37 years since I engaged with all that. But Humble Pie sounds as awesome now as they did then. Stoned or not. Never so much have I appreciated the fact that I experienced this age of music as it happened.

I saw Pie in 1974 at Cobo Arena and all I can say is the spirit of Steve Marriott in 2010 is still with me. His presence in Music will never leave us, Thank God.

When this first part ends you’re going to have to click on to the second then third. You won’t regret it.

~

~

~ Rock On ~

~

1 Comment

Filed under 1960s Psychedelia, Blues, Entertainment, MUSIC, Music History, Rock-n-Roll, Song of the Day

One response to “Friday at the Filmore ~ Humble Pie

Leave a Reply

