Sunday Blues ~ Janis ~ Maybe

Released the year I was born ~ 1957

Written by Arelene Smith    

       

    

       

Janis  Joplin      

Maybe  

Oh if I could pray and I try, dear,
You might come back home, home to me. 

Maybe
Whoa, if I could ever hold your little hand
Oh you might understand.
Maybe, maybe, maybe, maybe, yeah.      

Maybe, maybe, maybe, maybe, maybe dear
I guess I might have done something wrong,
Honey I’d be glad to admit it.
Oh, come on home to me!
Honey maybe, maybe, maybe, maybe yeah.         

Well I know that it just doesn’t ever seem to matter, baby,
Oh honey, when I go out or what I’m trying to do,
Can’t you see I’m still left here
And I’m holding on in needing you.       

Please, please, please, please,
Oh won’t you reconsider babe.
Now come on, I said come back,
Won’t you come back to me!   

Maybe dear, oh maybe, maybe, maybe,
Let me help you show me how.      

Honey, maybe, maybe, maybe, maybe,
Maybe, maybe, maybe, yeah,
Maybe, maybe, maybe, yeah.
Ooh!
    

The Chantels  

Maybe, if I pray every night
You’ll come back to me.
Maybe, if I cry everyday
You’ll come back to stay.
       
Ohhhh, maybe…    

Maybe, if I hold your hand,
You will understand,
And maybe, if I kissed your lips
You’ll be at my command.

Ohhhh, maybe…    

I’ve prayed and prayed
To the Lord
To send you back my love,
But instead you came to me
Only in My dreams   

Maybe if I pray every night,
You’ll come back to me.  

Maybe If I cry every day,
You’ll come back to stay.
Ohhhh, maybe.  

 

Same Song ~ Janis just changed a few words for her  rendition…

Both Exeptional.

Leave a comment

Filed under Blues, Entertainment, MUSIC

Leave a comment