Monday Memory ~ “Professor! Professor!” ~ Dean Martin

Today would have been my favorite aunts birthday. Anna

When we lived in my grandma’s flat in the mid 60s on the east side, I listened to this song over and over and over. I adored Dean Martin, so did my aunt. This one among many more were favorites of hers, it became my very favorite from Dino. I could sing it in Italian perfectly after the first few times.

Well she left the world in Dec. 1996 at the age of 84. There’s not a day that goes by I don’t think of her, that entire family that sadly has been gone and that house that only a couple of years ago was bulldozed. An Italian family occupied it from 1947-98. It only took the human rats that got that one and my other uncle & aunts right next door (sold in 2000) a matter of a few years to completely trash them.

My heart broke all over again.

Besides all that I still have this 45rpm that she gave me when we moved. I still wonder if she gave it to me because after hearing a million times was just plain sick of it or she knew how much I loved it. I rather think the latter and it brings a smile.

Anyway this day and song is in your memory Aunt Annie. You are beyond missed. Ti Amo.

 

Dino

 

Dino Paul Crocetti

Professor! Professor! was released in 1960 only as a single on Capital Records. I’m sure it’s on a re-released CD somewhere.

 

italians-in-detroit

 

2 Comments

Filed under Entertainment, MUSIC

2 responses to “Monday Memory ~ “Professor! Professor!” ~ Dean Martin

  1. What a lovely way to remember your aunt. This made me smile… and sigh.

  2. Thanks Diane. I do miss her something terrible. Miss Dino too!

Leave a Reply

