Through Thursday ~ “I Talk To The Wind” ~ King Crimson

King Crimson 1969

It makes more sense.

What an incredibly gifted band. We had many poets in the 1960s that spoke their souls. They didn’t have to lure us, we went in willing.

This first album was epic.

 

In The Court of the Crimson King 69'

Written by Ian McDonald & Peter Sinfield.

Said the straight man to the late man
Where have you been
I’ve been here and I’ve been there
And I’ve been in between.

I talk to the wind
My words are all carried away
I talk to the wind
The wind does not hear
The wind cannot hear.

I’m on the outside looking inside
What do I see
Much confusion
Disillusion
All around me.

You don’t possess me
Don’t impress me
Just upset my mind
Can’t instruct me or conduct me
Just use up my time

I talk to the wind
My words are all carried away
I talk to the wind
The wind does not hear
The wind cannot hear.

 

Recorded and Released in 1969 off the debut album In the Court of the Crimson King.

Robert Fripp – guitar
Ian McDonald – vocals, flute, clarinet, saxophone, vibes, keyboards, mellotron
Greg Lake – bass, vocals
Michael Giles – drums, percussion

 

King_Crimson_1969

 

4 Comments

Filed under Entertainment, MUSIC

4 responses to “Through Thursday ~ “I Talk To The Wind” ~ King Crimson

  1. I reach for this recording when I want to be truly entertained and immersed in the progressive rock genre.

  2. The lyrics mesmerized me. Epitaph was always my favorite song off the album. It was sort of sadfully truthful.

  3. A true classic of the progressive era. I wish this version of KC could have hung together for a couple more projects but that was not Fripp’s style.

  4. I’d give anything to step inside of a time machine Coop and go back to this entire era. So many original talents creating not copying.

Leave a Reply

