Monday Mourning ~ My Beloved “Marty” Ernest Borgnine has died.

I’m absolutely heartbroken.

Believe it or not I actually go to sleep with “Marty” playing. I have the movie recorded on DVR. Being Italian I just find the movie relaxing. I could watch it every day and never get sick of it and know the lines like the back of my hand.

My favorite one in the movie is from Esther Minciotti who played his mother, when she tells her always complaining sister.

“Where you go rain goes, someday you gonna smile we all gonna to have a big holiday”.

This movie is beyond a CLASSIC.

It made Ernie a star because how only he could of portrayed him. With passion and straight from the heart.

He took a hold of “Marty” and made all who watched fall in love with him. He was one of the best character actors there was.

Being a boomer I also grew up watching McHale’s Navy. My Dad loved this show because like Borgnine (in real life), my Dad also served in the Navy during WWII and loved anything on TV or film that had to do with the Navy. This was also my first taste of Joe Flynn & Tim Conway.

And personally I liked watching him beat up Sinatra in “From Here To Eternity”. LOL

He could play it serious or comedic, other than Jack Lemmon I don’t know any other actor who did both to such excellence. They drew you in from your seats into their characters, it’s like you became apart of what you were watching. Very rare and so powerful.

So I dreaded hearing this news Sunday. When I get off this computer and go to bed, yes “Marty” will be playing but now with a lot more sadness knowing the man playing the part is no longer with us.

 

 

TCM “Marty” Opening Credits
 

“What are you doing tonight, “I don’t know, what are you doing…

The burlesque, Loew’s Paradise, Miserable and lonely! Miserable and
lonely and stupid! What am I, crazy or something? I got something good here, what am I hanging around with you guys for…….

You don’t like her. My mother don’t like her. She’s a dog. And I’m a fat, ugly man. Well, all I know is I had a good time last night. I’m gonna have a good time tonight. If we have enough good times together, I’m gonna get down on my knees. I’m gonna beg that girl to marry me. If we make a party on New Year’s, I got a date for that party. You don’t like her? That’s too bad.

How can you get anymore real? He earned that Oscar for this role. The those two pats on his mother’s arm during that scene wasn’t in the script. That was all Ernie.

 

 

Joe Mantell died Dec. 21, 2010 at the age of 94.

Angie: What do you wanna do tonight?
Marty Pilletti: I dunno, Angie. What do you wanna do?

 

Sweet Man & Career leaving us all a lifetime full of memories.

Thanks Ernie.

 

Grace Kelley & Ernest Borgnine at Academy Awards

 

Ermes Effron Borgnino… Hollywood Legend, Icon. There isn’t enough words in-which to describe this remarkable mans heart, stardom or class. He will be very very much missed.

Che Riposi in Pace.

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Entertainment

Leave a Reply

