Motown Monday – “Turn On Your Love Light” ~ Bob Seger

Written by Deadric Malone & Joseph Wade Scott
Recorded 1972 at Pampa Studios, Detroit, Michigan
Released off the album Smokin’ O.P.’s.

Way before The Silver Bullet Band Bob Seger Rocked. Earliest recording I remember went back to The Last Heard and 1966’s “East Side Story”, “Persecution Smith” and what would become his signature song for all time “Heavy Music” in 67′. Then it went on to The Bob Seger System. This man never stopped, he only got better.

Bobby Bland may have had first strike with a hit of this song, but it was Bob Seger that turned all of us young Detroit kids on with his funk of it in 72′. And it only got hotter from here.

I’m going to end this work week the way I’ve started out and give you a Live Fillmore Version with who got second strike with it in 1966 only with an even more explosive line up added to them in 1970. But for right now we can start out the dance with our own Detroit sound and Bob Seger’s version.

 

Bob Seger – guitar, piano, vocals
Jack Ashford – percussion, tambourine
Eddie Bongo – percussion, conga
Michael Bruce – guitar
Jim Bruzzese – tambourine
Skip Knape – organ, bass, piano, keyboard
David Teegarden – drums, maracas, marimba

 

6 Comments

Filed under Entertainment, MUSIC

6 responses to “Motown Monday – “Turn On Your Love Light” ~ Bob Seger

  1. Thanks for the Seger! I haven’t listened to this album for ‘way too long. I’m a huge Seger fan, and a blues fan, too. Another one of my Seger favourites is from Mongrel: the juxtaposition of rocked-out Mongrel and bluesy Mongrel Too.

    Love your musical choices – I can see I’m going to be spending lots of time exploring your blog.

  2. You are more than welcome Diane. Enjoy it all.

  3. Pingback: Motown is about to take over Oklahoma! « Dr. Sherry E. Showalter – "Keepin It Real"

  4. The emcee now announced that Bob Seger and The Last Heard were to perform, and they began their set with a quick version of “I’m a Believer,” rocked out with rapid passion. However, the real crux came with the drums pounding out the intro to “East Side Story”; then, as if possessed by a siren’s grace, the strange sound of the guitars blended into a beat that highlighted the powerfulness of the vocals and the tragic beauty of the lyrics.

    It seemed that even some of the models were groovin’ to the echo of the bands’ beats during the fashion show intermission; I could see them dancing off to the side. As for me, my mind and body were certainly focused upon the sounds of The Last Heard, from “Persecution Smith” to the dancin’ of the “Heavy Music.” Now this was a show, and I was definitely a believer. I knew instinctively that this day would remain with me for many years, as I felt so very fortunate to actually be seeing Bob Seger perform in my most formative of years, in real time, in what I firmly believe was his finest hour.

    I have reflected upon this performance many times throughout my life. From my teenage years, overlooking the big-ditch construction of I-75 from my bedroom widow while listening to Kenner radio, to the many times I would see Bob on TV (his legendary gigs on Robin Seymour’s Swingin’ Time), to his live performances in various band incarnations.

    I enjoyed them all, from his time with The System, and their hits, “Lucifer” and “2+2,” to the times I heard him perform at multiple high schools, where he would begin his sets with a cover of “Magical Mystery Tour,” to his eventual breakthrough with the Silver Bullet Band.

    I am grateful to have been a witness to one of Bob Seger’s first performances, which to me will always be this amazing rocker’s Finest Hour!

    Hudson’s Department Store Fashion Show – 1966/67 Detroit (Woodward Ave.)

  5. I was 9/10 years old in 66′ & 67′ so unfortunately still a little young to have gone to any concerts, but both of us remember one awesome Detroit Downtown. My aunt worked as a bookkeeper at Crowley’s, she worked there for over 50 years until she retired at 73 in 1992. The offices were above the retail part. I still remember those wooden escalator stairs and the restaurant there above the main floor. And the outside cement archway to another store on Randolph. When they knocked that store down they put the offices over between Fort & Lafayette.

    Your description of seeing Seger sounds fantastic. When East Side Story came out I was living on the east side of Detroit off of Harper & Conner’s and had one older cousin heading for Nam. And all of us young kids or teens for that matter had our little transistor radios tuned to WKNR, but of course we would turn that dial to CKLW as well. Funny all we had was AM but our musical minds were formed and developed over all those years flipping between 1310 and 580.

    How so far we’ve come but in 6 days I’m going to be 55 and I’d give almost everything to step into a time machine for those two stations and just the 4 channels we had on TV.

    Face it Dawn, Detroit Music became a passion that will always live on within the kids who grew up in the neighborhoods of the city and surrounding areas to hear and witness its artists first hand as soon as the records were released.

    How lucky indeed we all were. I miss those days something terrible. But then all we have to do is turn on a little old Detroit Rock and Roll and at least our minds are literally back where it all belongs.

    All we can’t get back is the stores and I miss Farm Crest’s jelly rolls and restaurant style pies and doughnuts with a little Grilli’s pop to wash it all down. LOL… Oh Well can’t get it all….

    Thanks for the comment on seeing Seger, it makes posting and writing worthwhile.

  6. Pingback: My music playlist for today (May 31, 2012 edition) | A View From The Middle (Class)

Leave a Reply

