Wednesday When It Was Music ~ Jerry Vale ~ Al di là (Beyond)

Written in 1961 by Labati Carlo Donida – Music
Giulio Rapetti aka Mogol – Lyrics

This song was originally recorded by Italian singer Roberta Corti (Betty Curtis) but Internationally it drew success by Connie Francis who first recorded two all Italian versions of it in 1961. Then a Italian/English version in 1962. Emilio Pericoli sang it in the 1962 film “Rome Adventure”.

But nobody ever sang it like Jerry Vale.

This man could bring you to tears singing any of his own renditions (this one in 1962) of Italian Classics. I heard this song from the time I was so very little from my grandmother’s house, at our churches annual spaghetti dinner at Alcamo’s on the east side of Detroit and all the Italian weddings and festivals we ever attended during the 1960s.

My Dad’s favorite song was “Momma” which I couldn’t bring myself to post it. And it too was Vale’s version that was the most beautiful.

This is when we had honest to God singers with the music to match. Vale’s smooth high tenor vibrato could melt the hearts of both men and women to relish every note played and every word sung. Gennaro Luigi Vitaliano (real name) is among the very best we’ve ever had and makes every Italian around this whole world to be proud of their heritage.

And you can take that from an American born of Italian Ancestry.

 

 

Original Italian lyrics

((Non credevo possibile,
Se potessero dire queste parole:)

Al di la del bene piu prezioso, ci sei tu.
Al di la del sogno piu ambizioso, ci sei tu.

Al di la delle cose piu belle.
Al di la delle stelle, ci sei tu.
Al di la ci sei tu per me, per me, soltanto per me.

Al di la del mare piu profondo, ci sei tu.
Al di la dei limiti del mondo, ci sei tu.
Al di la della volta infinita, al di la della vita.
Ci sei tu, al di la, ci sei tu per me.
La la la…
(Ci sei tu…)

English meaning of the lyrics

(I couldn’t believe it was possible
For these words to be said: )

Beyond the most precious good, there you are.
Beyond the most ambitious dream, there you are.

Beyond the most beautiful things, there you are.
Beyond the stars, there you are.
Beyond, there you are for me, for me, just for me.

Beyond the deepest sea, there you are.
Beyond the borders of the world, there you are.
Beyond the infinite vault (=the sky), beyond life.
There you are, beyond, there you are for me.
la la la…
(There you are).

Jerry Vale Lyrics

Al Di La’

Al di la means you are far above me, very far
Al di la, as distant as the lovely evening star
Where you walk flowers bloom
When you smile all the gloom turns to sunshine
And my heart opens wide
When you’re gone it fades inside and seems to have died

Al di la, I wondered as I drifted where you were
Al di la, the fog around me lifted, there you were
In the kiss that I gave was the love I had saved for a lifetime
Then I knew all of you was completely mine.

Al di la;
del bene piu prezioso,
ci sei tu
Al di la;
del sogno piu ambizoso,
ci sei tu

Al di la;
del mare piu profondo,
ci sei tu
Al di la;
del limiti del mondo,
ci sei tu.
Al di la;
della volta infinita,
al di la della vita.
Ci Sei tu,
al di la,
ci sei tu per me.

La la la la la …
La la la …

 

2 Comments

Filed under Entertainment, MUSIC

2 responses to “Wednesday When It Was Music ~ Jerry Vale ~ Al di là (Beyond)

  1. http://www.nytimes.com/2014/05/19/arts/music/jerry-vale-crooned-smoothly-of-love-is-dead-at-83.html?smid=tw-nytimesobituary&seid=auto

    Jerry Vale, Crooned Smoothly of Love, Is Dead at 83

    Riposa In Pace Mr. Vale and God keep you Paisan. You will always be remembered.

    July 8, 1930 – May 18, 2014

  2. Reblogged this on Longshot's Blog and commented:

    July 8, 1930 – May 18, 2014
    Riposa In Pace and God keep you Paisan. You’ll never be forgotten.

Leave a Reply

