I Shall Be Released ~ The Band

For anybody who is going through bad times at the present moment whether from sickness or anything else. Let the lyrics uplift your spirit not take it away.

Written by Bob Dylan in 1967.
Recorded and Originally released from their Debut Album “Music from Big Pink” in 1968.

Richard Manuel – piano
Rick Danko – bass, fiddle, vocals
Levon Helm – drums, percussion, vocals
Garth Hudson – organ
Jaime Robbie Robertson – guitars, vocals

Version playing is from the documentary “Festival Express” a 1970 train tour through Canada.  (It was the best  live audio I found)

It saddens me to think how many musicians within this documentary we’ve lost, but beyond anything it was Richard Manuel’s beautiful heart wrenching bleeding rendition of “I’ll Shall Be Released” that cried out of his soul. And in reflecting on this magnificent musician and why he decided to end his own life in 1986 a month before his 43rd birthday. I can’t help think why he couldn’t have just thought of this song lyrics but in a positive way.

I see my light come shining
from the west unto the east
Any day now, any day now,
I shall be released.

The song was written about somebody in prison hoping to see the day they became released. It was a Hope.

And the movie Shawshank Redemption best defined the word “hope is a good thing, maybe the best of things, and no good thing ever dies”.

The Band was full of talents and one day I’ll do a blog featuring the entire group. But for today I found myself trying to pay attention to all the words as an inspiration, after horrendous months of pain and worry as it rages on. When you’re beyond sick you are a prisoner as well.

One day I hope I am indeed finally released from it all, but with life continuing on to tell about it.

God help those of us without health insurance who are left to suffer to death.

 

 

They say everything can be replaced
They say every distance is not near
So I remember every face
Of every man who put me here

I see my light come shining
From the west down to the east
Any day now, any day now
I shall be released

They say every man needs protection
They say that every man must fall
Yet I swear I see my reflection
Somewhere so high above this wall

I see my light come shining
From the west down to the east
Any day now, any day now
I shall be released

Now yonder stands a man in this lonely crowd
A man who swears he’s not to blame
All day long I hear him shouting so loud
Just crying out that he was framed

I see my light come shining
From the west down to the east
Any day now, any day now
I shall be released

 

“And no good thing ever dies”.

We still hear your soul through the music you left us with Richard.

Thank You

Leave a comment

Filed under Entertainment, MUSIC, Rock

Leave a Reply

