Motown Monday ~ Reach Out, I’ll Be There ~ The Four Tops

Written by Brian Holland, Lamont Dozier & Edward Holland, Jr.

Released in 1966

Levi Stubbs – lead vocals
Abdul “Duke” Fakir
Renaldo “Obie” Benson
Lawrence Payton

Additional background vocals –
The Andantes: Jackie Hicks, Marlene Barrow, and Louvain Demps
Music – The Funk Brothers

All I can say is the words of this song, The Truth of the Words.

The only thing I know worst than living them is also really not having anybody there telling you to reach out to them. Making it doubly bad.

The Four Tops never made a bad record. Period….. and to think how fortunate I have been to have been brought up in the best music making machine the world has ever known. ” MOTOWN ”

Hitsville ~ Detroit, Mi. USA

We lived the music on the streets of our neighborhoods as young kids.
( Mine – Harper/Conners ) yet I was born on 14th & W. Grand Blvd. just three blocks away from Motown in 57. I was 9 years old when this song hit the airwaves and the charts.

Our Home, Our Sound, Our Music…. and it didn’t get any better than this.

 

 

 

Now if you feel that you can’t go on (can’t go on),
Because all of your hope is gone (all your hope is gone),
And your life is filled with much confusion (much confusion),
Until happiness is just an illusion (happiness is just an illusion),
And your world around is crumbling down, darlin’,
(Reach out) Come on girl reach on out for me,
(Reach out) Reach out for me,
I’ll be there with a love that will shelter you,
I’ll be there with a love that will see you through,

When you feel lost and about to give up (to give up),
Cause your best just ain’t good enough (just ain’t good enough),
And your feel the world has grown cold (has grown cold),
And your drifting out all on your own (drifting out on your own),
And you need a hand to hold, darlin’
(Reach out) Come on girl reach out for me,
(Reach out) Reach out for me,
Hah, I’ll be there to love and comfort you,
And I’ll be there to cherish and care for you,

(I’ll be there to always see you through,
I’ll be there to love and comfort you),
I can tell the way you hang your head (hang your head),
Your not in love now, now your afraid (you’re afraid),
And through the tears you look around (look around),
But there’s no piece of mind to be found (no piece of mind to be found),
I know what your thinking,
You’re alone now, no love of your own, but darling,
(Reach out) Come on girl reach out for me,
Reach out (Reach out)………. just look over your shoulder,
I’ll be there to give you all the love you need,
And I’ll be there you can always depend on me,
I’ll be there to always see you through,
I’ll be there to love and comfort you

 

 

 

2 Comments

Filed under 1960s, Detroit Music, Entertainment, Hitsville USA, Motor City, Motown, MUSIC, Oldies, R&B, Song of the Day, Soul Music

2 responses to “Motown Monday ~ Reach Out, I’ll Be There ~ The Four Tops

  1. vonmachc

    Aaahh love love love this post. I’m a HUGE MOTOWN FAN!!! HAve you ever been to the motown museum in Detroit? Fabulous blog!

    Xx

    http://chelseasgirl.wordpress.com/

    http://theidea-generator.com/

  2. LOL Born three blocks from it, but ironically never have been inside.

    One Day! Just watching Standing in the Shadows of Motown gave me chills. Like a contact high from those that made the music describing how they felt just being there again.

    It’s to bad Berry Gordy felt the need to completely ignore The Funk Brother’s for that 25th anniversary show. It should have been done here in Detroit not LA. James Jamerson one of the best bassists this world has ever known and helped to define the Motown Sound had to buy a scalped ticket and sit in the balcony to see the show. That was appalling and disheartening. Every single member of the Funk Brothers should of been on that stage that night. Gordy should of been ashamed of himself.

Leave a Reply

