Wild Wednesday ~ The Band That Almost Brought Shea Stadium Down ~ Grand Funk Railroad

Inside Looking Out

Written by: John Lomax, Alan Lomax, Eric Burdon, Bryan “Chas” Chandler

Originally Released off the Album, Grank Funk in 1969.

Grand Funk Live Album was Released in 1970

Mark Farner – vocals, guitar, harmonica, piano
Don Bewer – vocals, drums
Mel Schacher – bass

And you’re going to have to click on the second video to complete it.

This Power House Threesome from Flint, Michigan rocked our souls from the late 60s to the Middle 70s.

And on July 9, 1971 GFR literally almost brought Shea Stadium down.

The New York Police was scared to death after seeing the stands swaying up and down that they were going to collapse, and from this next video you can see why.

Mark Farner told an emotional story about when coming to the part of the song, I’m getting Closer To My Home and this song being one of the most requested songs from the soldiers in Vietnam that year. That the crowd was singing the song louder than he was over the P.A.

And notably said a lot of fans both female and male were in tears during the song.

Grand Funk sold out Shea Stadium out in 72 hours beating the Beatles record.

This band brings back some awesome
memories.

In 2006 at Detroit’s Winter Blast I stood in the rain in Feb. and watched Mark Farner’s Band in a packed crowd. I sung to every song and not for a very long time felt like a teenager again, I think all of us did. In the Summer of 2007 or 08? in back of the GM Ren Cen I saw Don Brewer and Mel Schacher with their band, and did the same.

I am just one of millions of their fans that wishes they’d reunite and stay that way. Their Muse and from the Days they made it will never fade away.

Embedded in Mind ~ Embedded in Time.

~
~
~

When the Rock Bands actually had vocal chords and knew how to use them. Both Farner & Brewer had some fabulous Pipes. But Farner shined during this entire Rock~n~Roll Era. And he still hasn’t lost his touch.

I cannot remember how many times me and a particular close friend I went through Jr. High and High school with cruised the streets with her boyfriend while singing our lungs out with this next song.

” We Live While We’re Flying ”

LOL….. 4-5 finger lids for $10.00. Yep we were. And by the second part kicked in……..Damn!

Part Two

As Prolific now as it was written in 1973 by Mark Farner.

Creepin’

Hey, everybody won’t you lend me your ear,
There’s something to fear, it’s here, and that’s clear.
Men gettin’ rich off rapin’ the land,
I can’t understand, why we don’t take them in hand.

Woah, oh … lord, I don’t want to be their fool no more.
I don’t want to be their fool no more.
Open eyes, but you’re sleepin’,
You best wake up ’fore tomorrow comes creepin’ in.
’fore tomorrow comes creepin’ in.

Feel that our lives are in the hands of fools,
Loosin’ their cool, it’s us that they rule.
Too many people sittin’ dead on their ass,
They ain’t got no class, people, this time must pass.

Woah, oh … lord, I don’t want to be their fool no more.
Hey … I don’t want to be their fool no more.
Open eyes, but you’re sleepin’,
You best wake up ’fore tomorrow comes creepin’ in.
’fore tomorrow comes creepin’ in.

Woah, oh … yeah, tomorrow comes creepin’.

Oh … hear me cryin’ ’cause the people like me,
That long to be free, are not actually.
Please everybody won’t you hear this song,
Help a country that’s wrong, to someday be strong.

Woah, oh … lord, I don’t want to be their fool no more.
No! lord, I don’t want to be their fool no more.
Open eyes, but you’re sleepin’,
You best wake up ’fore tomorrow comes creepin’.
Creepin’ …
Creepin’ …
Creepin’ …

Creepin’ …
Creepin’ …
Creepin’ …
Creepin’ …
Creepin’ …
Creepin’ …

Tomorrow comes creepin’.
Tomorrow comes creepin’.
Tomorrow comes creepin’.
Tomorrow comes creepin’.
Tomorrow comes creepin’.
Tomorrow comes creepin’.
Tomorrow comes creepin’.
Tomorrow comes creepin’.

Another great one to sing your lungs out to.

You have just stepped into a Time Machine ~ Hope you enjoyed the ride!

~

4 Comments

Filed under 1960s, 1960s Psychedelia, Detroit Music, Entertainment, MUSIC, Music History, Rock-n-Roll, Song of the Day

4 responses to “Wild Wednesday ~ The Band That Almost Brought Shea Stadium Down ~ Grand Funk Railroad

  1. Record Labels bitching about copy rights and the constant removal of Videos.

    Will get to fixing this blog back up asap. Sad they have to keep doing this.

  2. Thanks for this. As homage to Ernest Borgnine passing, I thought of “I’m Your Captain” and posting the clip on FB, eventually leading me to this page. I was there that night. So many memories that went far beyond the music but this is such a comprehensive overview that I’m sharing it with everyone I can. How especially interesting that I found you on the 39th anniversary of the concert!

  3. I’m heartbroken about Ernie Borgnine as I also posted a blog on this class actor.

    You’re very welcome on this one Melissa. I Had it on auto-play and I need to update the video’s. When I initially posted it YT hadn’t removed any. But obviously it’s been while. I hate when they leave complete black out ones but I have a feeling I know all what’s missing. You’ll enjoy it even more when I replace them with hopefully if I can find the replacements of the rest of the muse. LIVE 70′ Album.

    Working right now awfully hard so it may take a few weeks. Glad you enjoyed it. But then having been there I’m sure it’s embedded into your mind for life. That particular concert had to be one sweet ride!

  4. I was 11 years old and it was my first concert! Can you imagine, my brother who was in the coast guard took me, he had a huge camera , I have some shots of Humble Pie from high in the stands, We moved down to right in front when GF was on , I remember the stands shaking up and down , my bro. Tells me now he was fairly worried it would collapse , I have the tix stubs , I had my head torn off and put back on sideways from this life changing experience.

Leave a Reply

