Horse Power & Heart = Zenyatta ~ Wins 2010 Horse Of The Year

Zenyatta Crowned Horse of the Year

Zenyatta, the daughter of Street Cry who sustained her only loss in 20 starts when second in the Breeders’ Cup Classic (gr. I), was honored Jan. 17 as North America’s Horse of the Year for owners Jerry and Ann Moss and trainer John Shirreffs.

The winner, announced during the Eclipse Awards dinner, received 128 first-place votes, edging out Breeders’ Cup Classic winner Blame , who received 102 votes. The third finalist for Horse of the Year honors, Goldikova, received five votes. There was one abstention and two no votes.
Moss also congratulated the connections of Blame, noting “Blame is a wonderful racehorse.”

The Eclipse Awards are voted on and presented by the NTRA, Daily Racing Form (DRF) and National Turf Writers And Broadcasters (NTWAB). The votes are tabulated and certified by Strothman and Company.

Winners in all categories (horse ages in parenthesis where applicable) were announced at the 40th annual Eclipse Awards ceremony at the Fontainebleau Miami Beach in Miami Beach, Fla.

And the rest of the WINNERS.

The winners, in each category, were:

–2-Year-Old Male: Uncle Mo
–2-Year-Old Filly: Awesome Feather
–3-Year-Old Male: Lookin At Lucky
–3-Year-Old Filly: Blind Luck
–Older Male: Blame (4)
–Older Female: Zenyatta (6)
–Female Sprinter: Dubai Majesty (5)
–Male Sprinter: Big Drama (4)
–Male Turf Horse: Gio Ponti (5)
–Female Turf Horse: Goldikova (5)
–Steeplechase Horse: Slip Away (7)
–Owner: WinStar Farm
–Breeder: Adena Springs
–Jockey: Ramon Dominguez
–Apprenctive jockey: Omar Moreno
–Trainer: Todd Pletcher

In voting that concluded Jan. 4, 2011, Eclipse Awards voters cast their ballots to rank the top three horses and individuals in each championship division on a 10-5-1 point system basis. This voting established the top three finalists in each division, the names of which were released on Jan. 6, 2011. Eclipse Award winners; however, were determined by first-place votes only.

The tallies below represent only first-place votes from members of the consolidated voting entities, NTRA/Equibase, Daily Racing Form and National Turf Writers And Broadcasters.
Voter participation rate: 238/251 = 94.8%
2-Year-Old Male (Name, First-Place Votes)
Uncle Mo, 236; Boys at Tosconova, 1; Pluck, 1.
2-Year-Old Filly
Awesome Feather, 235; Turbulent Descent, 2, More Than Real, 1.
3-Year-Old Male
Lookin At Lucky, 224; Eskendereya 5; Drosselmeyer, 3; Afleet Express, 1; Discreetly Mine, 1; Paddy O’Prado, 1; Super Saver, 1; Smiling Tiger, 1; Twirling Candy, 1.
3-Year-Old Filly
Blind Luck, 237; No Such Word, 1.
Older Male
Blame, 238.
Older Female
Zenyatta, 237; Goldikova (IRE), 1.
Female Sprinter
Dubai Majesty, 232; Franny Freud, 3; Rightly So, 2; Serious Attitude, 1.
Male Sprinter
Big Drama, 170; Majesticperfection, 61; Discreetly Mine, 4; Bribon (FR), 1; Chamberlain Bridge, 1; Smiling Tiger, 1.
Male Turf Horse
Gio Ponti, 199; Dangerous Midge, 22; Champ Pegasus, 6; Winchester, 6; Paddy O’Prado, 5
Female Turf Horse
Goldikova (IRE), 212; Proviso (GB), 15; Tuscan Evening (IRE), 11
Steeplechase Horse
Slip Away, 175; Arcadius, 25; Percussionist (IRE), 6; Sermon of Love, 4; Voter Abstentions, 28.
Outstanding Owner
WinStar Farm, 100; Mr. and Mrs. Jerome S. Moss, 81; Claiborne Farm and Adele Dilschneider 16; Midwest Thoroughbreds 15; Juddmonte Farms, 5; Zayat Stables, 5; Repole Stable 3; Edward P. Evans, 2; Augustin Stable 1; Melnyk Racing Stables 1; Maggi Moss, 1; Kenneth and Sarah Ramsey, 1; Wertheimer and Frere, 1; Voter Abstentions, 6.
Outstanding Breeder
Adena Springs, 69; Claiborne Farm and Adele Dilschneider, 55; Brereton C. Jones, 43; WinStar Farm, 26; Edward P. Evans, 12; Maverick Productions, 10; Juddmonte Farms, 7; Gulf Coast Farms, 3; Ocala Stud, 2; Eugene Melnyk, 1; Pamela and Martin Wygod, 1; Voter Abstentions, 9.
Outstanding Trainer
Todd Pletcher, 168; John Shirreffs, 28; Jerry Hollendorfer, 17; Steve Asmussen, 8; Albert Stall, Jr., 5; W. Bret Calhoun, 4; Bob Baffert, 1; Freddy Head, 1; Juan Carlos Guerrero, 1; Kiaran McLaughlin, 1, Bill Mott, 1; Voter Abstentions, 2; No Vote, 1.
Outstanding Jockey
Ramon Dominguez, 124; Garrett Gomez, 60, John Velazquez, 32; Mike Smith, 13; D.L. Parker, 3; Joel Rosario, 2; Kent Desormeaux, 1; Russell Baze, 1. No Vote, 1; Voter Abstention, 1.
Outstanding Apprentice Jockey
Omar Moreno, 197; Forest Boyce, 6; Freddy Lenclud, 4; Angel Serpa, 4; Luis Saez, 3; Tyler Kaplan 1; Marcelino Pedroza, Jr., 1; Voter Abstentions, 20; No Vote, 2.

More than Deserving. Way to go Baby!

Kicking up her heels and running as Free as the Wind!

Other Pictures by the New York Times at Lane’s End Farm in Kentucky.

Running free through the Snow with the other Broodmares. Enjoy your new friends and live a long sweet life you Big Hearted Girl. You deserve every moment of it.


” Exquisite ”


BloodHorse Through The Lens: Zenyatta on Lane’s End Farm Running while Butt Kicking through the snow and TALKING!

The Video is last after the 6 pictures.

My God, I was crying while watching this Horse Running Free thinking this is crazy. But it’s called appreciating and enjoying what all these animals should be able to do at the end of their careers. Whether that career reflects 19-1 or 1-19.  Just be Free and taken care of with plenty of water, food and most of all Love.

May it be a long long Healthy and Loved life for Zenyatta and All Horses.

” This year the voters finally got it right. “

Leave a comment

Filed under Breaking News, Breeders Cup Classic, Entertainment, Horse Racing, MUSIC, Song of the Day, Thoroughbred Horse Racing, Zenyatta

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s