Wednesday lose yourself ~ Supernaut ~ Black Sabbath

Released in 1972 from their 4th Album. Written by the Band.

Ozzy Osbourne – vocals
Tony Iommi – guitars, piano, mellotron
Geezer Butler – bass guitar
Bill Ward – drums, percussion

Ironically this group just wasn’t on my 20 best band list back in my Hippie Days. Way too many bands back then to take hold of. But this was my absolute favorite from Black Sabbath and the most underplayed on the so called classic rock station here in Detroit. In fact I don’t believe I’ve heard this on the radio in 20 years. I thought the guitar and bass work were fantastic. Now there is a story that goes with this song but I’m not even going there. Let’s just say us crazed kids back then partied the shit out of this song and a lot of fond memories of a particular group of friends it reminds me of.
~

I want to reach out
And touch the sky
I want to touch the stuff
But I don’t need to fly

I’m gonna climb up
every mountain on the moon
And find the dish
that ran away with the spoon

I’ve crossed the ocean, turned every bend
I found the plastic and the golden rainbow’s end
I’ve been through magic and through life’s reality
I’ve lived a thousand years and it never bothered me

Leave a comment

Filed under Entertainment, MUSIC, Rock-n-Roll, Song of the Day

Leave a Reply

