Sunday Smooth ~ Southside Johnny Style ~ The Fever ~ Song of the Night

Southside Johnny & The Asbury Jukes.

Released in 1976 from their first album, I Don’t Want To Go Home. The Fever was written by Bruce Springsteen.

Oh yeah baby,
I fell in love with this song the very first time I heard it. Another slow, sexy & raw blues number.

Funny I remember seeing them on Detroit’s PBS station in the late 70s, but can’t remember the shows name. I don’t believe it was Austin Limits. I thought the band as a whole were great. But it was its lead singer that drew you completely into the muse. Seemed everything S.S. Johnny sung was done with passion and it came through in all of the songs. Funny I remember these guys actually before I took notice of Bruce Springsteen. Why? Can’t tell you I just did.

Another one of my favorite from these guys is ” Trapped Again”. But I loved the version of it I heard on that show. It went a lot more deeper. And other than Sam Cooke’s song, ” Having a Party ” ~ the best cover of it was S.S.J. and the Asbury Jukes. Anyway S.S. J & the A.J’s. or Springsteen. They all were the JERSEY BOYS. And like every city’s groove and signature sound. This was theirs.

The Fever is one of those songs that once you hear it, it will never leave you.

 

 

John Lyon – lead vocals, harmonica
Kenny ‘Popeye’ Pentifallo – drums, vocals
Kevin Kavanaugh – keyboards, vocals
Billy Rush – guitar
Alan Berger – bass
Clarence Clemons (credited as Selmon T. Sachs) – bass vocals (“The Fever”)

Horn Section

Carlo Novi – tenor saxophone
Eddie Manion – baritone saxophone
Tony Palligrosi – trumpet
Ricky Gazda -trumpet
Richie “La Bamba” Rosenberg – trombone

Revelation (background vocals on “The Fever”)

Arnold McCuller
Arthur Freeman
Phillip Ballou
Benny Digg

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Blues, Entertainment, MUSIC, Rock-n-Roll, Song of the Day

Leave a Reply

