On the Anniversary of Steve Marriott’s ( HUMBLE PIE ) Death.

On April 20th, It will have been 19 long years since we lost this phenomenal singer & musician.

Born on Jan. 20, 1947, he was only 44 when he died in 1991 in a fire at his 16th century home in Arkesden, Essex in England. Marriett was not only a powerful soulful Rock/ Blues Singer & Guitar player. But he also played Keyboards, Piano, Drums and wailed on the Harp. And in my book he was one of the best.

This man had a Colorful career starting in 1963 starting with the band, The Moments. Then in 1964 Marriott along with Band mates Ronnie Lane, Kenney Jones & Jimmy Winston ( Later replaced by Ian McLagan ), formed Small Faces.

Then in 1969 one of most Powerful Bands ever put together, and soon to be one of my favorite bands to come out of the later 60s/ early 70s was formed.

Their name HUMBLE PIE.

This band consisted of Steve Marriott, Jerry Shirley ( Drums ), Greg Ridley ( Bass ), & Peter Framton ( Guitar ). Musically this band couldn’t have gotten any more in Sync. There wasn’t any album that ever came out from this band ( 1969-1975 ), that didn’t produce multiple hits. My all time favorite was the 1971 Live Humble Pie Performance Rockin’ The Fillmore, a two Record album set. The song list included one of my favorite Humble Pie performances , I Walk On Gilded Splinters written by Dr. John. It was a complete one side long, about 23 minutes. Other songs included Four Day Creep, I’m Ready, Stoned Cold Fever, Hallelujah I just Love Her So, Rolling Stone ( Also one side long ) & I Don’t Need Know Doctor. To date, it is still listed as one of the BEST LIVE ROCK ALBUMS EVER RECORDED. Just SOME of their other hits include, 30 Days in the hole, Hot & Nasty, C’mon Everybody, Black Coffee, Your so Good for me. And two of the BEST VERSIONS OF BLUES SONGS. I Wonder & I Believe to my Soul.

I have heard young people say after being turned on to Humpie Pie, man that singer ( Referring to Steve Marriot ) sounds a lot like Robert Plant??? They don’t know it was the other way around. Plant Worshipped Marriot’s voice. Excerpts Taken from an old Rolling Stone Article said, In fact, Marriott is reputed to have been Jimmy Pages benchmark when selecting a Lead Singer for Led Zepplin, and there are unmistakable stylistic and timbral similarities between the voices of Marriott and Plant. In fact, Plant was a fan of Small Faces and a regular at their early Gigs where he also ran small errands for them.

So sorry kids, it was Steve Marriott that came first, AND HARD. Plant was a mere copy. Plant WANTED TO SOUND EXACTLY LIKE MARRIOTT.

Like Stevie Ray Vaughn once said of Jimi Hendrix, man he was the INVENTOR. I’m just the Mimic.

After Humble Pie broke up, Marriot continued on with many bands and many more musicians, But it was definitely Small Faces & Humble Pie that gave him the most notoriety.

So this is my Tribute to a man, who in my opinion should never lose his place in the History of ,

ROCK-N-ROLL.

STEVE MARRIOTT. He had an UNFORGETTABLE SOULFUL VOICE AND STYLE. And he has been very Missed.

 

” SMALL FACES “…… 1964-1969

ITCHYCOO PARK

 

TIN SOLDIER

 

WHATCHA GONNA DO ABOUT IT

 

If I Were a Carpenter…….. Excellent version

 

I’ve Got Mine

 

YOU NEED LOVING ( See Below )

SOUND FAMILIAR??????????????

Zepplin Copied this for Whole Lotta Love.

 

YOU’VE REALLY GOT A HOLD ON ME. ( WHAT BRITISH GROUP DIDN’T IDOLIZE, MOTOWN ! ) Great Version

 

EVERY LITTLE BIT HURTS ( Another MOTOWN HIT, Brenda Holliway )

 

ALL OR NOTHING

 

I Can’t Dance With You

 

Afterglow Of Your Love

 

” HUMBLE PIE “…….. 1969-75

 

I WALK ON GILDED SPLINTERS

You find them where you can! LOL (next Link)

http://my.mail.ru/video/mail/alex-enm/44523/213423.html

 

I BELIEVE TO MY SOUL

 

I WONDER

 

FOUR DAY CREEP

 

I’M READY

 

FOR YOUR LOVE

 

BLACK COFFEE

 

ALL SHOOK UP

 

I Can’t Stand The Rain

 

STONE COLD FEVER

 

I DON’T NEED KNOW DOCTOR

 

30 DAYS IN A HOLE

 

HOT ‘N’ NASTY

 

Red Light Mama, Red Hot

 

C’mon Everybody

 

The Sad Bag Of Shaky Jake

 

RAIN ……….. Nice Version

 

THE FIXER

 

Sweet Peace And Time

 

DESPERATION

 

STRANGE DAYS

 

Up Your Sleeves

 

ROLLIN’ STONE

Part 1

Part 2

 

GET DOWN TO IT

 

YOUR SO GOOD FOR ME

I KNOW YOUR SO GOOD FOR ME, GOOD FOR ME, GOOD FOR ME…………………

STEVE MARRIOTT was good for Me, You, Rock~n~Roll, Blues and Music in general. And I had the fortune of seeing Humble Pie in 1974 at Cobo Arena in Detroit, Mi. at the age of 17.

AND IT WAS A CONCERT I’LL NEVER FORGET.

SO TO STEVE MARRIOTT’S MEMORY, AND AS HE SAID MANY TIMES ON STAGE ……… ROCK ON !

 

 

2 Comments

Filed under Entertainment, MUSIC

2 responses to “On the Anniversary of Steve Marriott’s ( HUMBLE PIE ) Death.

  1. I happend to find this and wanted to thank the person who put this together.
    Steve Marriott , well what can I say other than I believe he was one of the greatest musicians in our generation.

  2. Your very much welcome Kathryn.

    Looks like I have to update some videos again as YT removes them with such frequency.

    Yes, Steve Marriott was absolutely phenomenal and was a gigantic contribution to the soundtrack to our youths and adolescence and has been one very sorely missed musician. I have even more music that highlight’s Humble Pie and Steve throughout this blog-site.

    I’m glad you enjoyed it and here one more to reflect upon of his undying talent and the rest of his band mates.

    http://longshotsblues.wordpress.com/2012/11/24/saturday-slice-of-pie-for-your-love-humble-pie/

Leave a Reply

